Top 5 Interview Questions and Sample Answers


part time mba, executive mba, correspondence mba, distance mba, global executive mba, online mba. management institutes india

1. Tell me about yourself. Be brief! Keep this answer to 30-45 seconds max or you will lose the employers attention very quickly. Remember, ‘tell me about yourself’ doesn’t mean they want your life story. Summarize your skills and Experience in a way that make you stand out and show why you are the best person for the job.

Sample Answer : “Hello, my name is Shalini Sharma. I am a law enforcement professional with a degree in criminal justice and active Top Secret security clearance. My qualifications include fifteen years of experience in international and homeland security and outstanding leadership capability managing large security teams. My experience also includes knowledge of patrol, search and rescue and investigative and criminal procedures. I am a sharpshooter with expert marksman qualifications as well. I would like to discuss how I can bring these skills and experience to your company.”

part time mba, executive mba, correspondence mba, distance mba, global executive mba, online mba. management institutes india

2. What are your career goals and where do you see yourself five years from now? The key here is to focus on your achievable objectives and what you are doing to reach those objectives.

Sample Answer : “Within 5 years, I would like to become the very best mechanic your company has on staff. I want to work toward becoming the expert that others rely on. Hopefully, this will allow me to take on greater responsibilities with the company if the opportunity arises. I am also working towards additional certifications in the field to enhance my career potential.”

3. Why are you leaving your current job? When answering this question, always focus on the positive: You are looking for a new challenge, more responsibility, more experience or a change of environment. Never be negative about your former or current employers or talk about negative experiences you had there.

part time mba, executive mba, correspondence mba, distance mba, global executive mba, online mba. management institutes india

Sample Answer : “I feel that the time is right for me to transition the outstanding skills and experience I obtained during my last four years in the military to the civilian job market. I received great training and/or education in the Army and have been given job assignments that have enhanced my technical skills, leadership ability and taught me how to meet deadlines and multi-task in a very fast-paced and often stressful environment. I can bring these same skills to your organization.”

4. What are your strengths? This is one question that you know you are going to be asked so be prepared! Concentrate on discussing your main strengths. List three or four proficiencies such as your ability to learn quickly, determination to succeed, positive attitude, your ability to relate to people and achieve a common goal, etc.

Sample Answer : “I have very good organizational and time management skills, but my greatest strength is my ability to effectively handle multiple projects and deadlines.”

part time mba, executive mba, correspondence mba, distance mba, global executive mba, online mba. management institutes india

Sample Answer : “My strength is my flexibility to handle change. As a front line manager at my last job, I was able to turn around a negative working environment and develop a very supportive and productive team.”

5. What are your weaknesses or areas you would like to improve? This is another frequently asked question. Everyone has weaknesses, but when answering this question in a job interview, stay away from personal qualities and focus on professional traits. Describe what steps you taken to overcome your weaknesses so that you can demonstrate areas of improvement.

Sample Answer : “I am always working on improving my communications skills to be a more effective presenter. I recently joined Toastmasters which I find very helpful.”

part time mba, executive mba, correspondence mba, distance mba, global executive mba, online mba. management institutes india

Sample Answer : “Sometimes I have trouble delegating duties to others. This has sometimes backfired because I’d end up with more work than I could handle. I’ve since taken courses in time management and learned more effective delegation techniques and I’m happy to say that my last several team projects were a great success.”

Article Source by :- Indian Management Institute
For more information visit :- http://www.imiedu.in

Leave a Reply

